Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

henryford122851-thinking

Many business owners, me inclusive, often forget one of the most important rituals to help them get answers or ideas for their projects.

As a small business owner myself, when I first founded my business, I followed the advice of gurus in my field and listened to what everyone had to say. Much as the advice I received was very useful in getting me off the ground, I occasionally got stuck because some of the information I had acquired didn’t necessarily fit into my business model or overall operational mission. When I spoke to my mentor about my dilemmas he said, “Jacinta, do you ever get time to think?” “What do you mean?” I said. He then explained that we all need time to think. We need time to think about the strategies that we are implementing, those that we are yet to implement. We need time to think for ourselves in order to tap into what relates to us the most. We need time to think of new ways to enhance and/or change our business models in order to address changes in our business environments. Without thinking about these things, we are leaving ourselves out of the equation. Because we might be learning from gurus in our business fields, but without thinking about what we learn, we end up doing what others have recommended without embracing their ideas and making them our own.

“Thinking is the hardest work there is, which is probably the reason why so few engage in it.”Henry Ford.

Suggestion: Spend a minimum of 20 minutes every day without any disturbance from the outside world and dedicate that time to think. The benefits are invaluable.

thinking

In my book, Communicating Your Way to Success: Master the Art of Persuasion, Positively Influence Others, Increase Sales and Stand Out from the Crowd, I get to share profound, and practical strategies on how to think your way to success as you learn how to use the art of persuasion to captivate your audience.

http://www.tapthegood.com